Eight favourites as new BPCL dir. mktg

Vol 18, PW 16 (09 Apr 15) News in Brief

Eight internal candidates are seen as key contenders for the post of Bharat Petroleum director marketing to replace KK Gupta who retires on March 31, 2016.

PESB officials advertised the post on February 23 and want CVs in by April 28. A BPCL source says of the 18 executive directors less than 15 are ‘technically’ eligible as they have the required two years left to retirement.

Of these, only eight have marketing experience: S. Ramesh, head of LPG marketing; industrial and corporate sales head Rajoo Natekar; gas division head IS Rao; jet fuel business head MM Somaya; new initiatives head Pramod Sharma; retail sales head George Paul; co-ordination head Monica Widhani and international trade head Dipti Sanzgiri.

Applications could also come in from ONGC, Oil India, GAIL, IOC, HPCL and MRPL. “We hope an internal candidate is selected,” says a BPCL source.

KK Gupta has held the post since April 2011.