NTPC begins looking for new CMD

Vol 11, PW 6 (26 Jul 07) News in Brief

After the drama that led to the appointment of ONGC chairman RS Sharma, the stage is now set for another high profile public sector appointment: CMD of NTPC, the country’s largest public sector electricity generation company.

PETROWATCH learns that by July 25th the Public Enterprises Selection Board had received 11 applications to replace Thyagrajan Sankarlingam who retires on May 1st next year after just two years in the job. Sankarlingam took over as CMD from CP Jain on April 1st 2006.

Four candidates are from NTPC: director operations Chandan Roy; director commercial RS Sharma; director finance Ashok Singhal; and HR director RC Srivastava. “Chandan Roy is the strongest contender,â€‌ we hear.

PESB advertised the post for selection of NTPC’s CMD on May 14th. Candidates were told to send in their CVs within 30 days.

Applicants from NTPC were told that they should not be more than 58 when applying for the post.