Balakrishnan slated to become CMD of HPCL

Vol 10, PW 16 (30 Nov 06) News in Brief

Arun Balakrishnan is likely to take over as the new chairman of Hindustan Petroleum when Mahesh Lal retires on 31st March next year.

PETROWATCH learns that Balakrishnan emerged the frontrunner following interviews at the Public Enterprise Selection Board in Delhi today (Thursday, 30th November). A source tells us that HPCL marketing director S.

Roy Chaudhury came number two during the interviews, which began at 10am and ended at around 2pm local time. Interviews for the top job at Indias second largest refiner after Indian Oil were conducted by a five-man panel of oil secretary MS Srinivasan, PESB chairman NK Sinha, PESB secretary R.

Datta, former additional oil secretary and permanent member of PESB Naresh Narad, and RK Singh, also a permanent PESB member. Other than Balakrishnan and Roy Chaudhury, seven candidates were shortlisted, among them IOC business development director BM Bansal and acting GAIL CMD MR Hingnikar.

LNG Summit