DK Sarraf wants to be PNGRB chairman

Vol 20, PW 22 (27 Jul 17) News in Brief

Outgoing ONGC chairman DK Sarraf is being talked of as a front runner to become chairman of the downstream regulator PNGRB.

PETROWATCH learns Sarraf appeared at an oil ministry interview for the post on July 25, 2017 along with four other hopefuls: former EIL Chairman AK Purwaha, who retired on May 31, 2015; former HPCL director BK Namdeo, who retired on October 31, 2016; Sanjay Agrawal, a former IAS officer and Anuj Kumar Bishnoi, a former secretary at the department of chemicals and petrochemicals who retired in May this year. Speculation is rife that Sarraf will be selected for the post as reward for steering ONGC's successful acquisition of GSPC's east coast Deen Dayal block, say sources.

Whoever wins will enjoy a handsome salary of Rs4.5 lakh ($7000) per month. The PNGRB advertised this position on May 15 this year.

Separately, the oil ministry is reportedly poised to appoint former OVL director commercial SP Garg and former Oil India director offshore S. Rath as new Members on the PNGRB board.

"Formal confirmation for Garg came out on July 26 (Wednesday) while that of Rath is likely to be sent out next week," we hear.