June 5 deadline for PNGRB applicants

Vol 20, PW 17 (18 May 17) News in Brief

At last the oil ministry is making some headway to select a new chairman and members for the PNGRB.

On May 6, the ministry published job advertisements for the chairman and two vacant member roles in the English language Hindustan Times newspaper with versions also published in the Hindi-language Dainik Hindusthan the same day. S.

Krishnan, the last PNGRB chairman, retired in August 2015 and his position has remained unfilled since. Member (legal) Subhash Batra left on December 17 (2016) followed by member (pipelines) KK Jha on January 6 (2017).

This is the second time the member posts have been advertised suggesting that candidates interviewed in March are out of luck. They include former MECON chairman AK Tyagi, former OVL director finance Satpal Garg and former Oil India director operations Satchidananda Rath.

Ashish Chatterjee, joint secretary gas pricing, wants fresh applications by June 5 from candidates aged under 62. The chairman will get Rs4.5 lakh/month ($7000) and the member legal will get Rs4 lakh ($6200).

Not included is a house or car.

LNG Summit