New oil ministry jobs for AK Srivastava and S Vijayraghavan

Vol 7, PW 13 (10 Sep 03) News in Brief

On Monday, 1st September, AK Srivastava took charge as joint secretary gas in the oil ministry to replace S Vijayraghavan who has completed his tenure in this post.

Srivastava has been given gas division director in the oil ministry for the past three-and-a-half years and will head the gas division for another 18 months before returning to his parent state Uttar Pradesh. Vijayraghavan was to return to his parent state Bihar but has been appointed to head the oil ministry's Petroleum Planning and Analysis Cell, successor to the Oil Coordination Committee that was abolished when the government announced the dismantling of the Administered Pricing mechanism on 31st March 2002.

Vijayraghavan took charge at the PPAC on 1st September replacing acting director Ram Singh of Bharat Petroleum. AK Srivastava is a 1982 IAS officer.

Vijayraghavan is a 1973 IAS officer who joined the oil ministry in January 2001 as head of the gas division.