Ten apply for IndianOil chairman position

Vol 22, PW 24 (19 Sep 19) News in Brief

Ten IndianOil candidates have applied for the chairman position which falls vacant when Sanjiv Singh steps down on July 1, 2020.

Six will be shortlisted based on a combination of rank and experience, according to a company source. Among those who applied by the August 21 deadline are director finance Sandeep Gupta; director human resources Ranjan Kumar Mohapatra; director Research and Development SSV Ramakumar; executive director Telangana and Andhra Pradesh Rahul Bhardwaj as well as executive directors DL Pramodh, UP Singh, Subimal Mondal and SM Vaidya.

Directors Gupta, Mohapatra, and Ramakumar as well as EDs Bhardwaj, Mondal and Singh are expected to make the shortlist, speculates a source. Mohapatra is believed to be the frontrunner because of his extensive marketing experience and because he is from oil minister Dharmendra Pradhan's home state Orissa.

Sandeep Gupta also has a strong chance. "Before taking over as director, Gupta was ED - corporate finance," adds our source.

"This is a very important role." Shortlisting will take about a month after which interviews are likely early-November 2019.

Whoever wins will be thrust head-first into deliberations about IndianOil's possible acqusition of BPCL and/or parts of GAIL.