Vol 3, PW 1 (03 Feb 99) People & Policy

The BJP government has at last confirmed the appointed of professional "part-time" directors to the boards of Indian Oil Corporation, Hindustan Petroleum and Bharat Petroleum - a move which should have happened 18 months ago, when the United Front government first announced it was going to revamp Indias "Navratna" (crown jewel) PSUs to give them functional and financial autonomy.

The new directors are:- Indian Oil Corporation M Kalyansundaram President, Indian National Trade Union Congress R Pachauri President, Tata Energy Research Institute Prof S Barua Indian Institute of Management (Ahmedabad) Vineet Nayyar Former Chairman, GAIL L Sabratnam Chairman, Indian Structural Corporation Bharat Petroleum SM Dutta Former Chairman, Hindustan Lever P Khandwala Indian Institute of Management (Ahmedabad) PP Perumal Former trade union leader Prof K Vasudeva Former MP Hindustan Petroleum T Sankar Principal, Administrative Staff College, Hyderabad Rajesh Shah Confederation of Indian Industry Raja Kulkarni Trade Union leader N Nandagopal IndustrialistONGC and GAIL are still awaiting confirmation of their new directors.