IndianOil dir. mktg i/v pushed back

Vol 24, PW 18 (29 Jul 21) News in Brief

If you were hoping to find out who the next IndianOil director of marketing is, prepare to wait a bit longer.

This report learns the Public Enterprise Selection Board (PESB) postponed interviews for the post from the original July 23 (2021) date to August 3 (2021). "I've heard the oil ministry had some other meeting (a review) fixed on July 23," speculates a source.

"Since the oil secretary Tarun Kapoor was busy with it, the PESB had to postpone the interviews. The PESB called all shortlisted candidates by phone to tell them it had postponed interviews."

On July 9 (2021), the PESB shortlisted 11 candidates. From IndianOil, the shortlisted candidates are Maharashtra state head Amitabh Akhauri, Delhi state head Shyam Bohra, Tamil Nadu state head P Jayadevan, executive director in charge of aviation fuel Sanjay Sahay, executive director retail Vigyan Kumar, and Madhya Pradesh state head V Satish Kumar.

Others in the race include Kanuru Srinivas, executive director HPCL; Vivek Jaiswal, general manager at BSNL; Upendra Tiwari, general manager at BSNL; Prashanth Kumar Balsavar, managing director and CEO at India International Convention and exhibition centre; and Vikram Singh, joint secretary in the shipping and waterways ministry. One favourite is Shyam Bohra, but Akhauri and Jayadevan also have a chance.